top of page

"From 1941-1954, and again in 1956, the California League played a straight season schedule with the top four teams meeting in a post-season playoff.  The official league champion was the team finishing in first place during the regular season.  The team winning the playoff received the "President's Cup" as a symbol of victory.

     In 1946, 1947, 1951, 1952, 1953, 1954 and 1956 the league champion and the President's Cup winner were the same team.  Four times they were different teams.  Fresno won the championship in 1941, Santa Barbara the playoffs; Fresno won the championship in 1948, Santa Barbara the playoffs; Bakersfield won the championship in 1949, San Jose the playoffs; Ventura won the championship in 1950, Modesto the playoffs.

     Since then, the league has played a split-season schedule and the playoff winner has been the league champion" -Bill Weiss (Former Cal League Historian), from the 2004 California League Record Book.
In the shortened 2021 season, there was no split season schedule. The top two teams with the best overall record, regardless of their division, advanced to a best of 5 Championshoip Series to determine the League Champion. 
Use the search bar to search for specific teams.  

For specific playoff results, go to the Seasons page and click on the season you wish to see. 


  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
bottom of page