top of page

1955-1964, 1966-1992 


Reno Team Photos
Reno Silver Sox
1955-1964, 1966-1981
Reno Padres
Reno Silver Sox
Notable Alumni
Dennis Eckersley (HOF)
Roberto Alomar (HOF)
Bobby Cox (HOF)
Jim Lefebvre
Alfredo Griffin
Ozzie Guillen
Benito Santiago
Willie Davis
Duane Kuiper
Dick Tidrow
Ed Vosberg
Ray Fosse
Bobby Tolan
Alan Ashby
Phil Cavarretta
John Kruk
Reno Overall Record
2,529 - 2,563 (36.5 Seasons)
Moana Stadium
Cal League Championships
Cal League MVP
Most Valuable Player
Willie Davis - 1959
Robert Arrighi - 1960
Don Williams - 1961
Bill Haas - 1962
Jose Vidal - 1963
Gene Richards - 1975
Kevin McReynolds - 1982
Eric Hardgrave - 1985
Cal League MOY
Manager of the Year
Roy Smalley - 1962
Harry Warner - 1975
Cal League ROY
Rookie of the Year
Willie Davis - 1959
Thad Tillotson - 1960
Dick Den - 1961
Bill Haas - 1962
Glenn Monroe - 1972
Gene Richards - 1975
Dan Graham - 1976
George Hinshaw - 1981
Kevin McReynolds - 1982
Mike Neill - 1992
Cal League POY
Pitcher of the Year
A Brief History of Reno Teams
Midway through the 1955 season the Channel Cities Oilers folded due to low attendance and financial problems. The team was awarded to Reno and began play as the Reno Silver Sox during the second half of the 1955 season. Reno Silver Sox players took home the Cal League MVP for 5 straight seasons from 1959 to 1963 and won back to back Championships in 1960 and 1961. Following the 1963 season the Reno Silver Sox took a one year hiatus and came back in 1965. The Silver Sox again won back to back Championships in 1975 and 1976. Following the 1981 season they changed their team name to the Reno Padres to match their affiliate, the San Diego Padres. San Diego ended their affiliation with Reno after the 1987 season and the team switched back to their former name, the 'Reno Silver Sox' and operated as an Independent team for the next 4 seasons. In 1992 The Silver Sox reached an agreement with Oakland and became an Athletics affiliate for one season. After the conclusion of the 1992 season, the team was moved to Riverside and became the Riverside Pilots.  
*Channel Cities franchise transferred to Reno, Nevada on July 1, 1955 to become the Reno Silver Sox
(18-57 as Channel Cities Oilers; 22-49 as Reno Silver Sox)


  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
bottom of page